David Geffen | Dale Rogers Training Center | World AIDS Awareness | Bingo | One Republic

Happy last week of November. It’s been a pretty good month – interesting always. I cannot get in the mood to put up Christmas around the house yet for some reason. Seems like a lot of work. Here’s what’s up:

My childhood friend John Michael Young and I, on our “ass” at the state fair.

Saturday, December 1 is World AIDS Awareness Day. I only knew of one person to die from AIDS and this was one of my biggest losses in life. My childhood friend John Michael Young. He was my sunshine, my laughter , my early life creativity . We first met when I was zero and his was one. I miss him good. That’s a photo of the two of us in 1980 at the State Fair. I would have never taken that but he thought it was hysterical because it was so not us. He was serious punk, I was a girl from Virginia trying to remember my Oklahoma.

Following up to Black Friday, Small Business Saturday and Cyber Monday is #GivingTuesday. I noticed the Dale Rogers Training Center is a participant. I can’t say enough about their importance of existence.

How cool! Steven Tyler likes the Oklahoma City Museum of Art’s Dale Chihuly Collection! WSJ -My friends said he was super cool. Posed for photos, signed autographs. Very professional.

The American Masters series featuring David Geffen plays again tonight at 8pm on OETA. Highly recommended. It’s so fascinating. Spanning his career from the mid-60s to now. I was very inspired by his drive and who all he discovered in both music and film. I had no idea. I listen to Joni Mitchell’s Free Man in Paris with meaning now.

City Arts Center’s annual Pottery Sale & Open House is Tuesday, 5:30-7:30 pm but the sale goes on for a while.

December is Bingo’s Birthday Month, National Drunk and Drugged Driving Prevention Month, Worldwide Food Service Safety Month, Safe Toys and Gifts Month (how convenient), Spiritual Literacy Month and Write A Business Plan Month.

The Devon Ice Rink at the Myriad Gardens is fun to watch and/or participate. Kids can just fall down and hard but get right back up. Maybe we can learn something from that?

One Republic lead singer Ryan Tedder is from Tulsa? That’s awesome. They’re really something special. One of my favorites on VH1’s Top 20 Video Countdown.

When it rains it pours. Bon Jovi will be at the Chesapeake Energy Arena on Saturday, March 16 then the following Wednesday, March 20 Eric Clapton will be here.

Leave a Reply

