First Friday Night in the Big Town

My Jeep Liberty filled with 50 pizza pizzas!

Ugh! I hate being cliché. That’s what Gary England (KWTV) started a long time ago: “Friday  night in the big town.” Well you can always count on the First Friday Night being big in the Paseo District. The Second Friday being big in the Plaza District and who knows if something doesn’t come up for the third and fourth Fridays. I feel like I spent my 40s mostly on a couch on a Friday night. My man works on Friday nights and I was always so tired from my day job that I just crashed trying to watch The Soup and The Fashion Police on Etv. Now that I’m on my own I feel I now have energy to enjoy Friday night in the big town! I want to see as many people as possible now too! So I attempted to hit about four places on May the Fourth be with you!

Number one was a volunteer commitment at the Oklahoma City Museum of Art for their Youth Arts Advocates’ second roof terrace party. The first one was held in the fall. It was a “Back to School” event and it was truly awesome. This was their “End of School” party. Thanks to my friend Peggy and the fabulous Little Caesar’s Pizza connection, I agreed to deliver 50 pizzas for the party. The teens were so cute. The theme was black and white. More than 400 attended. I think what’s got to be cool for the Museum is finding the next generation and letting these young ones feel like their on top of their hometown city’s skyline. That maybe  they can see excitement at a future in Oklahoma City….if they don’t and leave well, that’s what they’ve got to do. Check out the photo gallery! 

Amy celebrating with a Chihuly martini in the Museum Cafe

While at the Museum I ran into a good friend Amy Young who was celebrating the defense of her thesis so we had a toast in the Museum Cafe, which was PACKED with people going to see Celebrity Attractions Fiddler on the Roof. Gawd I love that musical. I know every word to every song from the movie of the same name that was huge in the early 70s. I dreamed of a wedding with those bottle dancing men. The bar group that gathered toasted Amy’s celebration with martinis designed by the Cafe called Chihulys.

Amy has become quite Miss Paseo, in my opinion! She and a partner purchased a building and are refurbishing it to become a learning center/art place and whatever else it may blossom into. It’s called SixTwelve. Here’s the Facebook page. Good luck Amy! Keep me on your evite list!

Speaking of Paseo, it was time to head to the Paseo District for their First Friday Gallery Walk. Man has that event gotten BIG! It’s so cool to see such activity. I went to JRB Art at the Elms. The infamous Joy Reed Belt was of course there hosting, entertaining with her random words of wisdom. The flowing champagne was ending. The artists that on exhibit were the painted fantasies of Chicago artist Eleanor Spiess-Ferris, who is acknowledged as one of America’s great visionary women artists and Oklahoman Beth Hammack’s abstract paintings. Press release.

Hanging with JRB Art at the Elms sculpture

I looked over west towards the Paseo District and it was packed. So much activity. Creative lights flowing. Sales registers ringing. Of course Paseo is gearing up for their annual Paseo Arts Festival, which will be Memorial Day weekend. Click here for more and I’ll be back to first Friday in June!

It was the eve of Cinco de Mayo so what better way to start your celebration then to attend the Cinco de Mayo party of NewsOK’s Food Dude, David Cathey. First of all, David is so so cool. He is friend to many restaurant and chef types because he so creatively covers them through the paper. He also has a great social media following, especially on Twitter. He was very helpful in covering the Oklahoma City Museum of Art’s ARTonTAP and Omelette Party when I worked there. I felt it was time to see his home and dine on his food. I headed way way northwest. Paid the toll for the Kilpatrick Turnpike to get there. It was worth it. In addition to his coolness, is wife Lori is super dooper cool. Oh and they have very cool pets. A black and white cat that had personality. A long-hair dachshund who pretty much thought everyone was there for them and a sweet elderly beagle. Apparently Lori helped her lose a lot of weight. Do you know how hard it is to put an overweight pet on a diet?? She must be a miracle worker.

Hi there Food Dude’s kitty kitty! I was just putting up my purse and he was watching me like this.

I got to see some reporters I had worked with at the paper including that darling Carrie Coppernoll. My dad always reads what she writes and I know that because when the Museum was mentioned, he would call to say he saw it. Photographer Jim Beckel was there. He helped me cover the opening of the Museum in 2002. He was really great with capturing the Chihuly installation. It was a lovely party but I was done.

Friday night was a BIG NIGHT for me in the town! There is always something to do on a Friday night!

Leave a Reply

