What is up with America’s employers?

Since I announced my resignation from my 12 year job a month ago, I’ve had a lot of people contact me. Some for my job, some to talk future business, others to complain about their employer. What is going on with America’s employers? Or is it just in Oklahoma City? A disease? A sickness?

Long-dedicated, talented employees are treated like shit (sorry), stretched thin;  have unproductive meetings; are asked for research that’s never used; start tracking every minute of their time; and the list goes on. Insert ________________ here – please!

It’s like they’ve forgotten the golden rule: If you treat your employees great first it will trickle down to the customer. Doesn’t anyone know that? Google it! While you’re on Google, see if you can Google how Google treats their employees. My boyfriend’s daughter works there now in San Francisco and claims she could never work for anyone else. Each employee is treated with respect, excellent benefits – they count. Each voice there counts. This should be the new standard among employers everywhere. Have you seen Google’s stock performance? Not too shabby now is it?

Then USA Today came out with this article this week: “Shove It indicator: More People Quit then Get Fired.” Wow! What a revolution. Maybe it’s not just in Oklahoma City. Quitting before getting fired? That’s right – somewhere the employer became empowered in 2008 or 2009 when the jobless rate was so high. The worst feeling in the world is thinking that you’re going to get fired. Don’t wish it on someone and if you have that feeling – get out of there.

I went into a spiral in 2009. Just knew I was going to lose my job. In my mind I was on unemployment, losing my home, worried about feeding my pets … it’s a horrible way to live. Just horrible. I had to seek therapy and get on Lexapro, which helped so much. I’m very open about it. My mom was a single mom raising me in a high stress area like Washington, D.C. She could have used it.

I digress.

Thanks USA Today!

From the USA Today article:

Fifty-one percent of all job separations were due to workers quitting, up from 49.8% of so-called separations in February, according to the government’s Job Openings and Labor Turnover Survey. This is the first time quitters (presumably confident they will find another job) were in the majority since September 2008.

Horrible employers (and you know who you are), get ready for a revolution! This is your future talking to you. THINK ABOUT WHAT YOU’RE DOING!

Speaking of revolution, let’s all maybe even start our own company…or maybe not.

2 thoughts on “What is up with America’s employers?

  1. This is a great piece, Leslie. I’m slowly building up my business, but when I get around to hiring, my employees will get the respect they deserve. Thanks for the post.

Leave a Reply

